Thursday, 3 September 2015

Historic Test Cricket Series Win For India

The recent test cricket series between India vs Sri Lanka was concluded with a 2-1 victory for India after India won the last and the third test match by 117 runs. The win is a major breakthrough for India as this is the first time they won an overseas test series after 4 years since their victory against West Indies in 2011. Also the fact that this is the first time India won a test series played against Sri Lanka, on the Sri Lankan soil, after 22 years since 1993, makes it a historic win for India.

In the first innings of the third test match, India scored 312 runs while Cheteshwar Pujara scored 145 not out and Dammika Prasad bagged 4/100. The Sri Lankans scored only 201. Kusal Janith scored 55 runs while Ishant Sharma devastated the Sri Lankan batting lineup. His 5/54 which was his 7th five wicket haul in test cricket, was the best performance by an Indian pace baller in Sri Lanka. He also reached 200 test wickets becoming the 8th Indian to reach the mark. The Indian second innings was 274 with Ashwin scoring 58 runs and Nuwan Pradeep bagging 4/62. The Sri Lankans could manage to score only 268 while Mathews scored 110 and Ashwin bagged 4/69 giving India a 117 run victory.

The Indian television channels gave a priority to the news of victory and it is the big topic for many live Hindi TV channels for these days.

No comments:

Post a Comment